Back On-Line

I apologize all my followers for not writing a blog for a while. As many of you know, I have been transitioning from the position of President of ISM Services to a new role. Consequently, I am the founder of a new firm, Aripart Consulting. This firm represents collaboration with media, clients, consultants and firms looking for innovation and improvement through procurement and supply chain.

Through the move from retiring from ISM to starting the new company, my wife Linda (@SourcingChick) and I have taken a lot of time to reflect on the experiences, opportunities and rewards from the procurement and supply chain profession that have so greatly enhanced our lives. Linda was part of the ISM-ThomasNet team that designed the 30 under 30 Supply Chain Stars program (whose amazing winners were just announced). This program was created to honor and reward Millennials who have chosen our profession. I have spoken to many manufacturing company owners and senior management who have said one of their biggest risks is that the younger generation is not attracted to manufacturing. I wish I had the chance to speak to every young person to describe the feeling of knowing how dirt in the ground becomes the can from which you’re drinking. Or of travelling on 6 continents and seeing the sights and being a better citizen because of exposure to many cultures. Or of understanding the good and bad aspects of regulation. And of the ability to give back to causes dear to my heart because the salaries in the profession are very good. Yes, Linda and I owe this profession a lot.

In all, it has been a great transformation. I would like to thank Tom Derry and the Institute for Supply Management for releasing the rights of Sourcing Guy back to me. I will start regular blogs this week.

Thank you all for your patience. I look forward to challenging and calling us all to action.

Bill Michels (Sourcing Guy)

Leave a Reply

