Congratulations on your 100th, ISM

ism-conf-2015

Milestone for Supply Management

Today I’m dedicating my blog to the Institute for Supply Management, a group that I have been a member of for over 40 years. Next week at the ISM2015 Conference, the organization will celebrate its 100 year anniversary of serving purchasing and supply management practitioners and their organizations.

The backbone of the organization is the large volunteer group that supports the organization. These volunteers have recruited, educated, and supported the organization with countless hours throughout their careers with many continuing into their retirement. These active volunteers come from all career levels from student through CPO. When I first joined as an entry-level buyer, it was the volunteers of the Central NY PMA who helped me find the right educational events and are the reason I continued my membership as my career took me from central NY to Watertown NY, then to Cleveland and to Detroit and to the opportunity to be an ISM employee for 3 years. The networking and volunteer experience helped me develop leadership and presentation skills that enhance the skills learned through my work experience. I am extremely grateful and owe these volunteers a lot.

As an organization, ISM has provided educational programs, certification programs, conferences, seminars, research and practices that drive the organization and the profession forward. In the last 10 years especially, the profession has experienced rapid growth, technology change, process change and integration into larger supply chains. The Institute for Supply Management has always been at the forefront of these changes, providing global reach with local touch through the volunteers and affiliates to the profession moving forward.

As I look to future, the role of the ISM will no doubt change with technology, business practice and talent changes in a rapidly changing environment. The organization faces stiffer competition than ever with many new entrants into the education and certification association space and the membership growing globally as supply chains become more integrated.

I’m looking forward to seeing ISM strategically move to serve the future needs of its members and their companies. Congratulations, ISM on 100 years and

I’ll see you at ISM2015 in Phoenix next week!

Leave a Reply

