Three Hours of Power

training-barbell-muscles-hands-39613

The Secret to Achieving Strategic Procurement and Supply Chain Goals

As I watched the Olympics last night, I saw the thrill of swimmers and gymnasts achieving their strategic goals and became even more excited about this blog. This week I’m honored to have guest blogger Chris Brogan. Those of you who know me understand that I’m all about implementable solutions and Chris’s tools and suggestions work. He’s had a huge positive impact on Linda, me and our business and he’ll help you win, too.

Three Hours of Power
By Chris Brogan

I’m writing to you within the three hours I’ve allotted each day to reaching my goals for myself and my business. It’s part of something I sell called the 20 Minute Plan JUMPSTART but it’s something that I work from daily. Remember the old ad? “I’m not just the president. I’m also a client.” True of me.

Three Hours of Power

The basic concept of the 20 Minute Plan is that you take 10 minutes in the morning and 10 minutes in the evening to set up your days for success. The mantra behind this is simple: your day is your week is your month is your year.

Your day is your week is your month is your year.

What you do today influences your weekly goals, and impacts your monthly progress and ultimately shows up in what you get for the year.

The three hours part is what I call the 9box. It’s for a simple reason. Take three hours and split them into 20 minute blocks. That’s 9 blocks of 20 minutes each. On my little sheet I work from, it looks like one side of a stretched out Rubik’s Cube.

In those three hours go ONLY that which moves me closer to my goals for me and my business. No client work. No honey do list stuff. Only priority work. Grade A top shelf stuff that will move the needle.

The To Do List is the Enemy

You’re so busy that you’re not doing anything. Let THAT sink in a moment. Are you one of those people who answers “How are you doing?” with a deep sigh and says, “Oh, busy!” And then you open your mouth to draw in air and your eyes are a bit wide, like, whew the exhilaration.

Guess what? 1.) No one cares that you’re busy. 2.) How successful is that busy making you?

People love their to-do lists. They feel excited when all the boxes are checked off. I call to-do lists noble masturbation. It feels good, but it’s not the real thing.

Sure, you have work to do. Whatever. We all do. But if you don’t dedicate some time to the actual priorities and efforts that will move your business forward, you’re just eating up hours on tasks.

The to do list is the enemy. Make it a third class citizen in your life.

Work Inside Three Hours

You’re awake roughly 16 hours each day, if you get 8 hours of sleep. I get 8 or more. You’re probably too busy to sleep as much as me.

Of those 16 hours, people speak for a lot of your hours: family, friends, work, clients, whatever. Find three. You can find 3 out of 16. And make those about your priorities. This isn’t piano lessons. This is “this will make me more successful because I’m investing time and focus in it” type stuff.

You can find it. And your success will start giving you proof that it’s working. And then you’ll defend it. I promise. It’s how I’ve written ten books and counting, while still traveling to consult, speak, and spend as much time as I can with my kids and my fiancé. Join me in taking some of this power for yourself.

Chris Brogan is a business advisor and New York Times Bestselling author. Learn more about him at http://chrisbrogan.com

Leave a Reply

